Why i will never buy Hyundai again!

This blog has been a long time coming. I had been giving this a lot of thought about how i wanted to go about this with the most tact. I have owned my Hyundai Veloster for going over 5 years now and there have been things i have dealt with in the last five years that has sealed that i will never by hyundai again.

The Hyundai Veloster is the first car i ever bought. I had previously owned a Sunfire, but that was a present for college and not something i had actually purchased myself. When i first went out looking for a car, i was interested in getting a newer Camaro, but driving a few made me quickly change my mind. After going through and looking at used cars, my neighbor recommended that i go with a newer model car as it would cost less in the long run with the mfg warranty.

When i got to the Hyundai dealership there were three versions of the 2012 Hyundai veloster, only one of them was still available as the person who they had ordered it for wanted one with all the bells and whistles, and not the base model. As someone who was 25 at the time and just started a job that could afford the base model, it was all i needed. From the first test drive, i was in love with the Veloster. It wasn’t a subaru or volkswagen, but i loved how it handled and how i felt in the car. There was no need to discuss or haggle since it was new and the price was right. One of the things that really sucked was the fact that it took more than four hours for us to sit down with a sales person to go over the paperwork. Once the paperwork was done and my loan which was cosigned by my mom (I was young with no credit) i was on my way with the car.

The first thing that upset me about being a hyundai customer was the fact that the dealership i had gotten the car from had given me paperwork about lifetime state inspections or something along those lies, but the hyundai i bought the car from was 40+ min’s away from where i lived and the hyundai by my work was 10+ from my job and also 40+ mins from where i lived. Apparently the Hyundai i got my car serviced was under no desire to honor that lifetime. The second issue i had was the number of issues i had with the car. Since i bought the car, i have had issues with the head unit just crashing at random. Sometimes it will not turn on it and will just hover on the boot up screen. Other times it just won’t find my bluetooth or it won’t connect. I had the head unit replaced once and then software updates, but it still likes to occasionally stop working.

One of the problems i had with this car was that when i would start accelerating up a rather steep hill, at low speeds my car would have a faint squeal like a belt was having issues. Several times i told them about this and once i took them for a drive and yet no matter how many times i took it in they never could “Duplicate it, even though i could almost every time i went up a hill.”

As my cars years progressed and the warranties came to pass, many repairs were needed that were no longer covered. During my state inspection, i was informed that my evap canister was bad and when i went to Hyundai, it was no longer under warranty because i had 50k+ miles on my car. They were willing to sell me one which at the time of writing this i was to say it was like $400-$600. I got one online for around $200 and it was OEM.

One of the biggest things that annoyed me about the car was the paint chipping off. On the rear passenger door, paint has begun chipping off and it is only getting larger. For a car that is 5yrs old, i can’t understand why it is chipping like the paint never properly bonded. The door handle itself has begun to fade. I thought the plastic part was black, but apparently it is actually white and painted black. It is incredibly ugly to look at the plastic fading to white, but i have no idea what to do.

The last thing that really put me off about Hyundai was the bait and switch they did on my mom. As i said before my mom had to co-sign on my car and because of that when she went to get a new car, Hyundai offered her a discount for returning Hyundai owners, which is why she bought a Hyundai herself. In the span of about 2 years, we purchased two Hyundai cars. Recently my mom has had issues where if she is driving her car for an extended distance, it will hesitate to get up to speed and won’t accelerate. If she shuts off the car and then turns it back on, the car won’t turn over and she has to wait for the engine to cool down before she can start it. She took it to Hyundai while it was still under warranty and they told her that there was an issue with something in the engine and that they would replace the engine with a used one that had double the miles that hers did for $3000+. That had me incensed, how can a car under warranty all of a sudden not be covered. Hyundai claimed that because my mom didn’t get regular oil changes through them, that it somehow voided the warranty on the engine so the issue wasn’t covered. My mom takes care of her car, and is a very easy driver, and yet because Hyundai didn’t do everything it was now going to cost her money she didn’t have.

Needless to say my mom wasn’t able to work with the better business Bureau because she missed the deadline to file because of work and helping plan a wedding, and now she is stuck with a Hyundai that is “out of warranty” and she can’t take long trips without fear of it breaking down for good. Needless to say this backhanded dealing was the straw the broke the camel’s back. I understood the issues i had with my car. I was driving around 200 miles every weekend for a traveling team and put miles on my car, and the squeal was faint and hard to track, but the fact that there is clearly an issue with the engine that had nothing to do with my mom and probably everything to do with it being faulty suddenly not being covered is enough to make me done. Many of my friends have been pushing my to look in Subaru and if the day comes i can afford a new car i will be heading to a Subaru dealership and seeing how their cars and warranties are.

Leave a Reply

